Nowadays, people have free access to music and videos online. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In today’s world, watching movies and listening to songs helps the people to bring the change in their monotonous routine. Online access to these media files has made it easier, to a great extent, for people to download them free of cost. It is a negative development in my perception which is described further in detail. Commencing with my viewpoint, one of the negative impacts of unlimited availability of media files is that people are getting addicted. It is not an uncommon thing to notice that most of the people like to spend every moment that they buy out of their busy schedules, staring at their cell-phone screens or their computers to explore their favourite video or audio content online. What they do not realize is that they waste a lot of their precious time doing such things and also feel restless when they do not get to do it. This not only meddles with their focusing power but also reduces their productive potential, both of which are essential to avoid procrastination of necessary tasks. Moving further, another unacceptable aspect that is worth mentioning here is the level of piracy which has gained new heights recently. Undoubtedly, not all the content on the web is officially released by the makers of it. There are many individuals who find pleasure in distributing highly-paid content, freely to the public. This incurs a huge loss to the creators of that content who put a lot of energy, time and funds while creating their work as those who find it readily available never like to spend even a single penny to own it. Needless to say, this is also reducing the number of people going to the cinemas fading their popularity although gradually but consistently. Conclusively, it can be said that free online access to music and videos has some pessimistic aspects associated with it. Therefore, there should be some limitations to its availability.