Nowadays people are less fit and healthy than they were in the past, which could affect their long term health. Why do you think this is? What can be done to solve this problem?

Leading a healthy lifestyle has become less essential in our life. People are less vigorous and fit now as compared to the days years ago. This essay shall delve into the reasons behind this scenario along with the remedial measure in the subsequent paragraph. Firstly, the world we are living in is totally taken over by technology, this is the reason why physical activities are diminishing with time. To exemplify, when a person does not go out for physical activities or exercise they tend to spend their leisure time using laptops, mobiles phones and other devices, thereby playing with their physical well being. This is the main reason why people are turning into couch potatoes. Furthermore, in the past people did not have any access to electronic gadgets. If they wanted to go somewhere they had to cover the distance walking to reach their destination. Even for basic necessities like food and water they had to travel to their farms which were far away from their home. Some used bicycles and some travelled on their own, though both ways it was a great exercise. To fortify further, today’s generation is much busier in other works and they hardly get time to do physical activities. Companies are forcing employees to work in graveyard shifts and they do not let people take a sigh of relief, especially in the third world countries. For example, people who are working in call centres are the most affected people in this era. Hence, the government should run more and more health campaigns to aware people of what is important for their future. They should tell and support everyone to walk at least 6000 steps a day. It would not only help everyone to burn calories but this will enhance their mood too. Government needs to make strict working laws for firms who are not letting their employees spend some hours of the day taking care of themselves. To conclude, people have become less active due to lack of time and work promises, moreover, they have become more engrossed in technology. However, this situation can be handled by promoting the health benefits of spending time on doing a workout.