Nowadays more and more researches are being carried out and sponsored by private organisations. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages in such cases?

Invention and research are always mutually inclusive to each other. There is a widespread suspicion when research works are owned by private enterprises. Because, we have been acclimated to the notion that the research programs should always be government owned. This essay will cover the salient points of private owned research programs. To begin with, there are multiple bottlenecks when trying to commence a government owned or government sponsored research program. Furthermore, it may require to get multiple approvals from various departments in order to get the right funding as well as the required infrastructure needs. This acts as a red tape in impeding the interest of the people who have invested so much of their efforts to realise their dreams. On the contrary, there would be no interferences if the research work is governed by private organisations. Owing to this reason, the outcome of the research will soon yield the success. The other major advantage of private owned innovation is that, there will be no role for the media to have a constant touch about the various stages of the research. Thereby, the research work will be tightly held as secret and no technological theft can happen. For example, space exploration is a daunting task and it even requires a huge amount of money to be invested. Because of this reason, many countries are unwilling to shed their financial reserves to explore the outer space. However, the private organisation SpaceX has started launching satellites and rovers from its own Launchpad. This practice has opened a vision of promoting private enterprises in the research oriented work. In conclusion, as far as my views are concerned, research owned by private bodies is a beneficial phenomenon for which there are a number of significant advantages. Therefore, the governments should begin to liberalise and incentivize the private organisations who are involved with such practices, as they are better equipped to outweigh the time consuming government funded research. If that happens, there will be a promising future.