Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. What might be the cases? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

In today’s modern world, many people prefer to work for themselves instead of working for a company or organization. From my own point of view, there are several benefits to being self-employed as well as shortcomings that we may face while working for ourselves. Looking from positive side, there are many advantages to self-employment which attracts a majority of people to work at home mainly due to the development of technology and the freedom it can provide. That is to say, if an individual is working for an employer then he or she will be bound by rules and regulations. For instance, a person who works in an office should follow the dress code, meals planning and certain work hours. Most of us don’t like this concept and like to work according to their own way. In addition, thanks to the internet which opens up all sort of opportunities it’s easier to start up an online business or to work as a freelancer. Thus, it doesn’t require to have a workplace or rent an office besides you have full control of everything. Running your own business is not without its drawbacks. The major disadvantage is that it demands whole concentration and self-discipline to succeed. For example, if a self-employed person skips deadlines or gets distracted easily there will be no one to bear the consequences except for himself. Another downside is the lack of stable income. There’s no guarantee that they will earn enough to make a living because it takes sufficient time for a self-employed person to be proficient in his or her field. In conclusion, self-employment could be a great option for those who are skilled enough and enjoy working for themselves. At the same time, it has significant disadvantages which not all of us could handle which is why it doesn’t suit everyone.