Now-a-days people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The twenty-first century has given rise to technology in enormous amount. People can now talk face-to-face from one end of the world to the other by simple driving in their cars. It's a growing trend which is uplifting human achievements to greater extent. With this comes both advantages and disadvantages in terms of human behaviour. If once can call their loved ones from thousands of miles apart in a millisecond and talk to them in a busy-evolving world then its a God's gift. Being aware of the traffic in the route one is travelling is also an advantage because then that person can talk an alternative route to get to his or her destination sooner. Knowing from the news or social media about rallies or attacks going on in a certain place is an advantage that can save one's life, if they had plans on travelling there. Considering this, it's an advantage that can elevate human emotions, save human lives and even help humans achieve greater things in life. However, there are disadvantages as well such as social media stalking, misuse of freedom of speech and even unethical access to private information by hacking. If enough patrolling is put in place and providing better education to youngsters on the usage of social media and ethical behaviours, these can be avoided in long term. In my opinion, the advantages of social media and access to everything around us in seconds outweighs the disadvantages that it brings along with it because if even one life can be saved, it's worth keeping along.