Most countries want to improve standard of living through economic development, however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

All nations always try to upgrade people's life quality through the economic sector from time to time. It is widely believed that economic development has influenced people to set higher standards for living. On the contrary, others think differently in which social value is a toll during the process. Despite that, I’m personally convinced that economic development advantages are greater than its drawbacks. The major reason for my statement is because economic development creates a better life quality for most people. There will be an increase in wealth which drag people from unlucky situations to a better place. The rate of poor inhabitants will likely drop as the Human Development Index is rising. Consequently, people subconsciously uplift the standard minimum of living to better ones. To illustrate, Vietnam is one of the successful countries that elevates its economy and creates more job vacancies which lead to higher job market demand, as well as reduce the unemployment numbers. As the natural selection logic, the higher the living standard in a country will impact its social values and moral reasoning in society. In my opinion, social values and moral compass indeed start fading away as many individuals become more focused on themselves. Nevertheless, this judgment is not true for all people since many people still have their conscience and compassion toward others. It becomes more prevalent for people donating their money or even the existence of philanthropy activities in monetarily developed countries like Germany, the UK, Shanghai, and Singapore. In conclusion, I would argue that the more advantages of economic development outweigh its disadvantages in the longer run. Since boosting economic development elevates greater live equality. Further, more people still have social values and morals in recent days