More and more plastic waste is polluting cities, countryside, and oceans around the world. What problems does it cause? What are the solutions?

Water, air, and food chain contamination around the world are several of the problems caused by the plastic overuse. Plastic, having been thrown away, is then spread around the areas by wind waves leaving the small particles of it on the ground, in the air and in the water features. Birds (seagulls and albatrosses for example) by looking for the food left in the plastic bags then consume the indigestible plastic. Aquatic animals, swimming among the plastic piled over the years on the ocean surfaces, get strangled by the plastic nets, bags, and other plastic waste. As a result, the population of some fish and poultry is on the verge of extinction. People, as a part of a plastic-invased food chain, get diseased as well. Eating poultry, fish, and meat of those animals, who are exposed to plastic debris, means getting these particles ourselves. As plastic is non-degradable, no digestive system can co-exist healthily with it. Taking every sip of a hot beverage through a plastic straw makes plastic release toxic substances in the drink, which, again, leads to no good but harm to our inner organs. The more toxic elements there are, the more there is a chance of getting cancer-related illnesses. There is no easy way to tackle the problem of plastic pollution. All nations have to act together and step by step limit the usage of non-degradable plastic and promote more eco-friendly, biodegradable materials. Some of the countries, China and France for instance, have already banned the selling of single-use plastic in all major cities and unveiled a major plan to reduce plastic production and its use over the next decade. Other solutions include the scientists’ findings who have developed the ways to break down plastic with the help of chemical processes and the techniques to create biodegradable plastic. With all these done together, the population still has a chance to get rid of all the plastic in the pitches, restore the wildlife and live in a cleaner environment as a consequence.