More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items with famous brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s world the trend of purchasing items derived from well-known brands has gained popularity among a large number of people due to several reasons behind. Although this trend brings about some drawbacks, I think that its benefits are more significant. Popular brand names often attract a great number of customers for these aspects. To begin with, products from famous brands are often high-quality. In fact, these items are made of purified materials and possess unique features, thus the life cycle of products is more expanded than casual products. In terms of brands' services, Apple, for example, attaches a host of after-sales services for their customers such as offering a full-coverage guarantee of all products. Apple’s customers can receive periodic maintenance at any Apple Service Center. Additionally, these items are more suited for enhancing people's appearance than the products from lesser-known brands. For instance, using fashion items from major brand names such as Dior, Gucci, Channel is often considered as a way for the rich to show off their social status or their wealth. In general, this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks to individuals and society. The most noticeable disadvantage is that purchasing goods from major brands can influence some certain parts of the business world. In fact, small businesses may be forced to close their doors because of the rise of dominant brands. As a result, this can cause the emergence of monopoly competition. However, these days, governments enact legislation to prevent any company from reaching the state of monopoly, so this disadvantage may be out of the question. On the contrary, this trend can be extremely rewarding for people. Such items from famous brands make customers feel secure for the original and quality of products. In conclusion, the tendency of purchasing goods from famous labels is rooted from the aforementioned reasons. Although this trend has certain drawbacks, I believe that they are outweighed by the advantages.