Modern technology, such as personal computers and the internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation? gwrl

Over the last years thanks to the rapid development of collaboration technologies, for a significant part of office workers the possibility to fulfill their tasks from home without losing time to commute has become more viable. This has happened due to the increase in variety and affordability of the applications on the software market. Despite all the benefits it has several drawbacks as well. On the one hand, working from home can cause a certain loss of concentration, since there are numerous distractions. Surfing the internet or making way too long trips to the fridge, or simply a crying child behind the wall to name a few. For some people it can become a challenge to overcome these obstacles when they need to perform their duties. That leads to a common opinion among the employers that the dedicated office is the only place where their employees can work efficiently and not be disturbed every now and then. In addition to that the lack of personal communication could cause the disunity of the team or inability to work together. On the other hand, nowadays it’s possible to reach a colleague in a matter of seconds even if they are on the other side of the globe. All that is necessary is to install the required software on the computer like Zoom or Microsoft Teams. Of course some tasks can only be performed on-site, for instance some specialized hardware can be required or a joined effort of multiple workers. And yet most of the time there is no need to be present at the company nine-to-five five days a week. Furthermore, home-office is an enormous benefit for young families especially with more than one child and no other family members to help taking care of them. To sum up, working from home has some advantages and disadvantages. The ability to operate from home presents a number of benefits for the working person. However, this kind of work requires a great deal of self-control in order to keep the high level of performance.