Mayor Brown was recently re elected by a clear majority of 52 percent of Monroetown s voters Her re election however does not show that most people in our town favored Mayor Brown s proposal for tax reduction over that of her opponent Mr Greene who propos

The author of this editorial concludes that most Monroetown residents favor Greene's proposal to raise taxes in order to improve education over Brown's proposal to cut taxes, even though Brown defeated Greene by way of a majority vote in a recent mayoral election. To support this conclusion, the author points out to a nationwide tendency to re-elect people already elected previously regardless of their positions. The author also talks about a survey taken after the election that showed most Monroetown residents oppose Brown's proposal. As the following discussion shows, the author's argument is not supported by compelling evidences. Firstly, raising taxes does not assert that the quality of education will improve in the town. Maybe, the mayor's proposal for reducing taxes does not affect education in any way. There are many other ways to improve education in the town like hiring experienced teachers, motivating students to become more engrossed towards studies any many other ways. Raising taxes as proposed by the opposition, Mr Greene cannot be the only solution to it. Furthermore, the author unfairly assumes that the nationwide tendency applies specifically to Monroetown residents. Nationwide voters cannot be directly compared to Monroetown residents. Without any evidence that Monroetown residents reflect general nationwide tendency, it is entirely possible that Monroetown residents vote strictly according to their position on the issues. Additionally, the author fails to indicate how much time passed between the election and the survey showing that most Monroetown residents oppose her proposal. If the survey was conducted immediately after the elections, the fact that the survey contradicted the elections would cast severe doubts against the ruling Brown's party. However, in my opinion the survey was conducted long after the elections which may have caused people to change their opinions about the ruling party over time. Finally, the author talking about the people not voting Mr Greene inspite of approving his proposals about improving education seems absurd. The author's claim of people opposing Brown's proposal and in favor of the proposals set forth by Greene is unconvicing. To strenghten the argument the author must provide clear evidence that Monroetown residents voted contrary to their own positions on the issues when they re-elected Brown. To sum it up, in my opinion the author's claims lies on frail surveys that do not provide powerful evidences to support the claims. To bolster his claims, he must bring in more evidences that support it.