Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

More and more people are using their personal information when subscribing to internet websites such as social media and online banking. While personal data is being used by several companies, it is still considered as a sensitive data and might have a damaging effect if being misused. This essay will discuss why personal information can be a negative development in today’s modern world. Modern Technology has allowed a plethora of companies to store personal data of their clients and users. It is widely known that private information of individuals are being used by several companies to identify the behavioural trend of their consumers. For example, social media networks like Facebook use the personal information of their users to assess which advertisement must be shown to them. Other manufacturing companies all use the demographic information of their clients to recognize which products are more appealing to them. Hence, these personal data are an essential tool as a marketing assessment in order for these brands to stay relevant. Conversely, It is hugely recognized that personal information are sensitive data, and any breach of information can be damaging to any individuals if it is not properly secured. To illustrate, there are several reported cases of credit card fraud by numerous banking institutions around the world. This is largely due to the fact that more cybersecurity hackers were able to penetrate the financial system of several banks and teal the personal information of their customers in their system. This has resulted to many illegal transactions amounting to huge amounts of money which also causes severe stress to the users. To conclude, internet users key-in their personal information in the internet in the hopes that their data are secured in their system. While personal data can be a great help to many companies as a marketing assessment tool, it is still dangerous to store information that are private and personal. In my opinion, maintaining personal information online can cause negative development to more people, particularly if there is a breach of security or misuse of information.