Many people in today’s society enjoy watching movies or TV programs about crime. What makes them so appealing to people? What is the impact of this on individuals and society?

Over the past decade, film industry has improved tremendously with numerous innovative concepts. Among the different categories, there is an increasing trend for movies under thriller category due to various reasons. This essay will discuss the reasons for this growing trend and the consequences of this on society. The realistic nature of the situations and the nature of unveiling the mysteries are in my view, the key reasons for the success of thriller or crime movies. Furthermore, nowadays, people are educating themselves well and are really keen on realistic things rather than imaginary things. These movies mostly interpret contemporary ideas that many people have to face as a part of their usual lifestyles. Moreover, according to a study by the University of ABC in India, most of the movies related to crime often flow from end to the beginning to provide a sense of curiosity and uncertainty. This form of entertainment is really appealing to the younger generation as they become innovative to make different decisions based on the existing facts and figures. On the other hand, these movies often involve situations related to hatred and revenge leading to negative impacts on the society. A recent newspaper report in the DF newspaper, for example, reported the violent death of a four-year-old boy stabbed by his 11-year-old older sister in India. This situation made it possible to ban crime movies in Maharashtra India for children under 15+ years of age. However, as a form of entertainment, I believe they are innovative and mostly try to convey a good message to the society about how to protect themselves in different situations and to always be curious and up to date about the things happening in the world. Overall, there are positive and negative impacts on these forms of entertainment and is in the hands of the audience to get the good out of the bad.