Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible.

In respect of the rapid development of globalisation, it is usual for governments to import food from overseas. However, some people argues that governments should product its own food locally for the whole population. Personally, I support this view and agree that governments shall import less food if feasible. The primary reason to support a government producing its own food is because it can generate more job opportunities internally in a country and develop economic growth on the industry of local agriculture. This will reduce the unemployment rate in the country and assist in maintaining a stable economy in a government. Another reason why a government shall import less food as possible is because it would adversely impact the global warming issue. Importing requires a lot of transportations such as aircraft and ship. This will unavoidably cause much pollution in air and water. Although some people suggest that importing food can ensure sufficient food supply, this shall only be considered as the last resort when there are short of local food supply. In most developed countries, the issue for food waste is more common than short of food supply currently. Therefore, my view is that global warming is a relatively more urgent issue that should be addressed before the issue for short of supply. If possible, the government shall always prefers producing its local food first instead of importing food. In conclusion, if the governments rely on imported food, this will directly cause harm to the local farming industry. Further, it is extremely detrimental to global warming that should be avoided if possible. Thus, I agree that countries should reduce importing food as little as possible and encourage to produce food locally.