Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

A museum is an entity that preserves the artifacts of history and works as an important representative of a nation’s tradition and culture. Thus the importance of museums to convey the historical facts to the new generation is beyond controversy. However, there are scopes to discuss whether entry to a museum should be free or not. I personally believe that there should be no charge for the museum entry as charging people for that have more demerits. To begin with, ticket money for museum entrance discourages many students and low-income families to visit them. The collection of large museums increases day by day and thus people need to visit museums on a regular basis, not just once in a lifetime. When people need to spend money to witness history, many of them prefer going to movies instead. Furthermore, museums are mostly run by state funds and like public parks, sea beaches and libraries, they should be free of cost. The main reason museums get public funds is to convey the national history to the young people and to act as a national pride, not to earn from ticket money. From this regards, charging people for visiting museums have far more demerits than an ignorable advantage it offers. Proponents of museum entrance fee believe that the ticket money is necessary for its maintenance while they fail to realise that this cost could easily be covered by the tax payers’ money. Charging these people and their children again is unrealistic. Finally, free entry to the museum would attract more international visitors and spread the cultural uniqueness to the world and thus bring more tourists to a country. If there are charges, tourists would visit more popular places than the museums. To conclude, free entrance to museums have numerous long terms and immediate benefits that far outweigh the single monetary advantage ticket money system has.