Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, tourism has become one of the most important activities in economically developing nations. The aim of this essay is to investigate the welcome merits of this idea as well as the unwelcome ones. Admittedly, there are several benefits associated with this matter. Firstly, tourism makes a significant contribution to the preservation of the uniqueness of the local culture and history heritage. In order to attract tourists, third-world countries regularly organize various festivals annually. For example, Hue Festival in Vietnam, Songkran Festival in Thailand, Rio Carnival festival in Brazil draw millions of visitors on a yearly basis. That, in turn, promotes the country’s customs and cultural traditions with people around the world. Secondly, a well-developed tourism industry brings more economic value to the host country. When foreign travelers pay money for services, accommodation, and food, thus generating tremendous revenues and creating numerous businesses and jobs for the local people drive the nation towards prosperity. Vietnam's tourism is the best example when it is a fundamental pillar of the nation's economic development, contributing six percent to Vietnam's GDP. In spite of these positive effects, this trend has brought problems as well. The tourism industry wreaks havoc on the vulnerable environment. There are high demands for road transportation, extravagant resorts, and recreational facilities due to an influx of visitors, leading to soil erosion, natural habitat loss, more pressure on endangered species, and ecosystem degradation. The expansion of the tourism industry poses threats to local traditions and public health. Hospitality jobs can destroy traditional jobs and skills (e. g farming, fishing, handicrafts) since local people are forced to work for hotels, restaurants, theme parks, and department stores. Additionally, epidemic diseases such as SARS, MERS, or Coronavirus infection can also spread faster because of the rising influx of holidaymakers. In conclusion, this development shows effects on both sides whether it is positive or negative. However, it seems to me that the benefit eclipses its obvious shortcomings.