Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

How far is it worth going to improve people’s living standards? What is an acceptable loss due to this? Some governments desire to enhance their standard of living through economic advancement even though some values are lost in the process. The purpose of this essay is to demonstrate the disadvantages of this decision and the consequences of people’s life. Although existing benefits the drawbacks will be harsher. To support this it can be argued that the mindset of citizens is increasingly more materialistic and kids thinking that everything can be bought. Also the huge growth of psychological problems in children and teenagers recently. Not to mention the negative environmental impacts. First and foremost, it is remarkable that economic growth will create more jobs and shrink the proportion of unemployment. As a consequence, people can get better lives. Ironically, on the other hand, raising the workload, parents have less time with the children, as they spend more time working. They then try to replace this emptiness with money and material things. As a result, the number of children with depression and psychological problems has increased. In this day and age, people are more and more materialistic and their children think that everything can be bought. With that said, the values about what it is really important in life are being lost indeed. Secondly, with the development of infrastructure and transportation, it is easier for people to travel safely and faster. But, all this evolution will result in negative impacts on the environment such as air and water pollution, global warming, melting of the polar ice caps and epidemics. In conclusion, even though there are pros in improving peoples' life by economic improvement, the cons are the harshest, so I emphasize my view that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages and that the countries should aim to improve their living standard in another way with less damage.