Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

Some people believe that learning historical events bring no benefits for those who live in the current period. I strongly disagree with the opinion, as I believe that learning about the past has many benefits for every individual and the society as well, and the following essay will discuss it in detail. To begin with, by studying history, people could learn about humanity and how to maintain world peace. From learning about world war one, world war two and other wars, people could learn that war was full of crime and violence. A lot of soldiers and innocent civilians became victims and some areas have been permanently damaged due to wars such as Nagasaki and Hiroshima. By studying these horrifying events, it is hoped that people all over the world will realize the cruelties of war and should maintain world peace. Studying past events also has some positive effects on human health. By learning about the lifestyle of our ancestors such as how they hunt, plant seeds and ate, the scientist could predict some genetic diseases that modern people are facing. Some diseases might be genetically carried from the blood of our ancestors due to their nomadic lifestyles, and people could some research on how to cure these diseases. In conclusion, several people indeed think that studying the past has no beneficial outcome for modern people. I do not agree with the statement as I believe that learning about past events has many benefits for human beings, such as in the political, medical, or economic areas.