Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cost? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

With the growing economy of the world, there is an emergence of various businesses, brands which have been competing with each other to grab more consumer attention via huge brand promotions. Not only do the consumers end up spending huge amount of money on these products but also end up regretting buying them as it yields no result. In this essay we will look at how most of the popular brands loot the common man and also do not provide quality products. Nowadays, Popular brands attract common man by luring them with attractive advertisements by having their brand endorsed by a celebrity, not only do they target the audience via social media but also attract them by publicity stunts. These well known brands sell their products twice the amount of their actual cost which leads to the consumer paying more than they should. For example, The New York Times feature an article where a local brand recently called out on a international brand selling the same product for almost five times the production cost. Another down side of buying products that are hugely popular amongst the people, is that the quality of the products is often overlooked and hence it results in disasterous side effects of some products. For example, a well known cosmetic brand of China recently shut down its factory in India, because the company was sued by a lady who found that her skin had adverse side effects after using the product for a week. Therefore, awareness about local products having better or the same quality of products as compared to the high end brands would result in people opting for local brands. This can be done by trying and buying method where we can have the local produce given for trials to certain percentage of consumers for free. This can lead for them to experience it and also have a reassurance that we can rely upon domestic products too. In conclusion, it is preposterous for popular brands to loot the common people by over endorsing their brands and over pricing the products that can also be sourced locally, just to run their business and make money.