It is suggested that everyone should have a car, a television and a fridge. Do disadvantages of this development for society outweigh advantages?

Technology has sparked off in every field of life and hence, everyone wants to acquire their own technological appliances from transportation to communication. This approach has both optimistic and pessimistic aspects. However, I believe that it is more advantageous. Advancement in technology has brought enormous merits. As regards communicating information, rather than conversing face to face, people prefer to use electronic gadgets to do so which not only helps to strengthen the globalisation but also saves the time of individuals. Moreover, inventions such as television has assisted masses to access information globally. Apart from that, cars not only provide comfort to the users but also give the opportunity to explore other places which are away from their host areas and thus, it has culminated in the growth of tourism. Furthermore, in the past, women had to perform all the household chores manually. However, kitchen gadgets, for instance, microwave, fridge and washing machine, saves a lot of time of housewives and therefore, they can use the same time by spending with their children fruitfully. Although this concern has several pros, cons of this cannot be neglected. Living a sedentary lifestyle has become a burning question of the day as individuals, especially youngsters, are always glued to television and do binge watching and hence, they have become couch potatoes. This has resulted in the high rate of obesity which is detrimental to their health. In addition, dependency on cars js also hazardous. If everyone has cars and do not use public transit, it wil definitely ruin environment as emissions of harmful gases from cars is a matter of concern. Additionally, If people rely on technological kitchen devices, it will result in less physical activities. To conclude, I believe that merits of this approach surpasses its demerits.