In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is positive or negative situation?

Having an own property is much more important than renting in some nations. While there are several factors that caused this situation, and I believe that this is a positive trend. There are three main reasons that caused people to prefer to have their own house. Firstly, having an own property is a symbol of social status. Especially in some Asian countries, people consider having a home the most significant symbol of wealth and success. If people did not have their own house, others would not believe that he/she is a successful person. Secondly, some people think that having their own house is a prerequisite for getting married. It is because that having an own house is fundamental to build a family. Finally, without having their own property, most people always feel like lack a sense of belongings, even if they can rent a place to stay. The house owner may terminate the lease agreement and ask them to move out at any time. Although having an own property requires a lot of money, I think this is a positive trend. This would encourage young people to fight for their future. They will make a lot of effort to achieve this goal, thereby boosting the local economy. People have to pay taxes for purchasing a property, and housing developers have to build more houses to cope with the demands. Not only can it increase construction sector’s income, but also helps to raise a country’s fiscal revenue, therefore governments have more funds to allocate to different essential sectors, including schools, health care and public transport systems. In conclusion, there are many reasons to push people to buy their own properties in some areas. From a long-term perspective, this trend will bring more benefits.