It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime is a direct influence of the increase of the violence in media. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays youngsters are consuming a vast amount of information through media such as the cinema, newspapers, television and most importantly, social-media. Some people opine that violent content displayed on media is making teenagers more delinquent. I do believe media is playing a big part in this and fully agree with this opinion. To that extent, this essay will explore different ways media play a role in exacerbating the problem of juvenile crime. To begin with, the media promotes illegal and offensive behavior. These days, many movies, TV series and songs seem to celebrate the law-breakers and they depict criminal activities as adventurous and fun As a result, It encourages the kids to break the law and get involved in illegal activities. Recently, there was the news of three young kids on the motor-cycle harassing a policeman because they wanted to record a video of their activity and share it on their social media. Other kids also started to emulate them and it soon became a social trend. Moreover, Media does not self-censor sensitive content. Videos and news of attacks or killings or other activities, which can have a devastating effect on young minds, are presented without any thought. As a result, youngsters can be psychologically affected by such content and might become more prone to aggressive behavior. As an example, recent videos showing a terrorist group ISIS beheading people on camera disturbed some teenager, subsequently, they ran away from their homes and intended to join the terrorist group in Syria. In conclusion, Media is promoting aggressive behavior through songs, movies, news, and various other ways. If this trend is not curtailed and corrected in time, it will have many negative effects on society in the long-term.