It is better to have lots of different friends than it is to have just a few friends

There’s a famous adage that goes-”A friend in need is a friend indeed”. Friends are necessary to get us through the most difficult times of life. Personally, I believe it is better to have very few friends who are close to us instead of having lots of friends. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay. First of all, in the present world of the internet, people are willing to connect using social media but not in real life. Having more connections only in social media is not a sign of great friendship. People need to have some real friends who can help us in our troubles and share our pain. Such friendships have become rare. We need to find such friends in real life and keep them close to our hearts. My personal life experience is a compelling example of this. Back in my college days, I went into financial trouble once and my whole family couldn’t afford my college fee for that semester. Even though I’ve thousands of friends on Facebook and Instagram, none helped me but my roommate who gave me money and helped me get out of trouble. So, it is always advisable to keep our circle small and strong. Secondly, with increase in quantity the quality gets down. Friends are our primary influencers after the family members, so good friends will make our life beautiful. Whenever the friends circle is large, it includes people of different attitudes and characters. A bad fruit can spoil hundred good fruits. Similarly, a friend with a negative attitude can influence our life in a bad way. For example, one of my friends named Vasanth was a brilliant student till his schooling, but soon he entered the college he made friendship with a person called Madhav who is an alcoholic. Within no time, Vasanth got addicted to alcohol, cigars and eventually spoiled his entire career. So we need to be very careful while choosing friends. Finally, Our life is a one time blessing. We need to enjoy it to the maximum and it is possible only when we have time to spend with our friends. Keeping our friend circle small will ensure that we give time to each and every friend of ours. People would often feel lonely when they are not with their friends and it is easier to keep in touch with them when there are few friends. To illustrate, when I was in college I used to have a lot of friends and whenever we plan a trip to somewhere, it used to get cancelled because of problems with few people and we never happened to go on a trip. These are the kinds of problems that come with managing lots of people. But now, I have very few close friends and we go on trip whenever we want to. This clearly shows how important it is to have a stronger and smaller friend circle. In conclusion, I’m of the opinion that it is always better to have fewer friends. This is because it helps to keep the friendship, maintain a good quality friend circle, and ensure some quality time with each of our friends.