It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

The selection of jobs is a very crucial and critical task in our lives as it may help us achieve our dreams and an ideal lifestyle. Some people may say that it is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents while others oppose this view. However, I think it is wiser for children to choose a job that differs from their parents’ job. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, children may never learn how to perform independently in their career if they follow their parents’ footsteps entirely with their parents facilitating them. Children who aim to work in the same vocation as their parents are neither required to think for and plan about their own future, nor will they learn from stumbling over obstacles on their way since children are less likely to make mistakes when parents are always guiding them, consequently resulting in fewer opportunities to learn from their mistakes. Because of this, children will develop a habit of constantly relying on other people to do their job instead of working on their own. The result of being over-dependent is that children may lose self-value and self-esteem, furthermore, judge themselves as useless beings. One that did the same job as their parent may have great achievements, yet none of them is accomplished by themselves. For instance, we wouldn’t learn to fix our own repair our own home if there always is a handyman nearby. We wouldn’t acquire cooking skills if someone else prepares food for us. Similarly, children wouldn’t learn as many skills and achieve as many things as if they walked on the road of their own life themselves, which in the future make them see themselves as useless failures, finally messing their job up. Whereas when a child would feel more motivated when they learned to do new things independently, consequently inspiring them to do better in their job. Secondly, children may feel extremely pressured if they work in the same field as their parents, furthermore messing up the family bond and relationship. It is natural for parents to wish them to be more successful than themselves and entrust their unaccomplished dreams to their children if they work in a job that is similar to their parents. Consequently, parents will keep a close eye on their children and leave them with almost no freedom of exploring their own interests moreover doing anything unrelated to their occupation. Due to this, children may feel rancorous towards their parents for taking over their life, developing a rebellious mentality, and finally consider the whole family as their enemy. For example, people, especially youngsters, often feel tired of parents telling them how to behave. As a consequence, an intense relationship between them and their parents will be developed, which makes teens wanting to escape the family, moreover causing them to fail at school. However, on the other hand, children who aren’t pressured by their parents and has more freedom of self-choice will trust their family strongly, leading to a secure family connection, causing them to feel content and relaxed knowing that their family support them all times. To sum everything up, I believe that children benefit more from a job that is dissimilar to their parents. Because this way they can become more motivated in their career by being independent and also living a happier life with a strong family relationship.