It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent.

I agree, to prevent heinous crimes like rape and murder, criminals should be given the death penalty, but others say that, it should be a life long sentence. In this essay, I will illustrate both sides of the argument with suitable examples. Firstly, those who support the death penalty as a mode of punishment believe that, it will instill fear into the minds of criminals. For instance, in countries like Saudi Arabia that endorses capital punishment for serious crimes, have seen a drastic decrease in rape incidents. Moreover, a death penalty will save taxpayers money, which will otherwise be utilized for the safe keeping of the criminal in jail. On the other hand, some people argue that, the Government or any other agencies do not have the right to take the life of a person. Therefore the only viable option is to go for life long sentence. For example, in many Scandinavian countries, capital punishments are completely abolished, since they believe it's not in their power to take another man's life. Moreover, a life sentence will give the criminal a chance to deliberate the bad choices, and he/she could become a reformed person. To conclude, the debate over death penalty versus life sentence will remain one of the controversial topics. There are pros and cons to both sides of the story, and the decision to go with one of these punishments will depend on the belief system of a country.