Is prison a good punishment. Discuss

In many countries the determinated law against criminals is prison. Police arrest them and according to the type and violence level of their crime, the court administers the prison punishment for them. Many people believe that prison is the best retribution for those who commit a crime however I firmly oppose. In this essay I will explain my point of view. After criminals get into jail their retribution period begin. In this situation there are numerous jobless and impractical people into the prisons who government provides their expenditures. This is not affordable for the country and society. There doesn't exist sufficient work force to do manual jobs; the jobs that are extremely durable and typical citizens would never do them، for instance working in mines, green the desserts, etc. Government can use these forces to build up the country. Authorities are allowed to reduce the retribution years in accordance to the difficulty of their jobs. Needless to say that the physical environment in prisons is not in a way that can help prisoners to become more effective person in the society in future. Criminals in jails are surrounded by other criminals and this leads to raise crime rate. Various types of crimes have been committed inside the jail for example robbery, violence against persons, sexual offences. A prisoner with a minor crime, for example: shoplifting is more at risk inside the prisons. So I personally believe that prison punishment is not practical and it won't work. However many people argue that incarcerate lawbreakers inside a particular place and deprive them from communicate with outside world can be most reasonable penalty. For instance psychologically an individual's isolation and its social exclusion can causes irrecoverable mental problems, including: depression, anxiety disorders, behavioral and emotional disorders which can be unbearable and painful for the rest of the person's life. All in all there exist two opposite point of view regarding this issue which I analysed in this essay. Some people believe that the prison is a suitable punishment for wrongdoers which transmute them into a new man and make a new identity for them. Even so I fo not believe in prison punishment for the causes that I brought up namely: high-risk atmosphere of prisons particularly for minor criminals and numerous imppraticible prisoners who governments provide their expenses without any impressive benefits for the society.