Independence from parents

Questions surrounding whether young people should gain independence from their parents as early as is feasible have been ongoing in recent years, especially after the development of technology, which has generated a great difference between the younger generation and the older one. While some people believe that parents should take care of their children for a long time before they become independent, others believe that young people's independence has to be obtained as soon as possible. In my opinion, becoming independent soon is better: I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. First, taking responsibility for their own life makes young people mature and self-confident. If parents are always available to solve their issues, they will never learn how to behave in our society and how to face life problems autonomously. Besides, being independent does not mean only starting your own life, but it also means becoming independent of your parents-from an economical point of view. In my opinion, people have to begin working as soon as possible so that they can understand how saving money is important and valuable. For instance, my father got a job when he was in his twenties since my grandparents did not have enough money: he diligently earned money and never asked his parents for money. If he had not gotten a job when he was young, he would have been a burden for his family and he would also have never developed some skills, such as hard work and patience. Thus, independence from (and of) parents is extremely important for young people's individual development. Second, being independent is more efficient since staying with you family for a long time can be counterproductive. In fact, even though your parents give you everything you need and therefore you live safely without caring about working, your parents can negatively influence you. In particular, they can decide for your life since they think to help you, but they are actually harming your personality. Another issue that can arise if young people live with their parents is when the younger and the older generations discuss about the technology. For instance, my parents are anti-technological and conservative and so they do not like that I use some technological devices. I only visit them in summer, but I believe that if I had to live with them for a longer time, we would have troublesome discussions, and this could be harmful. All in all, this essay discussed why young people have to become independent as soon as possible. This is because they can become more mature and because they can avoid having problems with their family.