In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In recent year, children are instilled the concept that they can fulfill any goals if they put effort on it. In this essay, I am writing to analyze the benefits and drawbacks of providing this idea to the offspring. To begin with, one of the pros of giving children the concept of working hard on goals is tantamount to success is that gives them motivation to accomplish task. Frankly speaking, everyone is striving for success in this competitive world. There is no doubt that the harder people work, the more likely they are able to fulfill their goals. Therefore, words of this encouragement not only give them motivation but also hope to complete tasks. Indeed, a significant number of great scientists achieved huge accomplishments by spending countless times to invent new technologies or theories. Under this line of thinking, the concept does gives reassurance for children to work hard on their goals. However, never should we overlook the fact that children may lose the ability to deal with failures if they only believe the concept. In reality, there is no guarantee that children can accomplish anything if they work hard enough. By conveying the idea of working hard means accomplishment, children may lose the capacity to handle failures. In stead of learning from mistakes, when children face failures, some offspring may feel discouraged while some even feel guilt on not spending enough time on work. This in turn gives vast pressure on children. Worse still, they may end up facing depression or anxiety. It is not unusual to see news of students who commit suicide when they cannot achieve good results in the examination. This concept of trying hard equals to success is not necessarily beneficial to children. All in all, on the one hand, the concept encourages children to work hard on their goals. On the other hand, children may not know how to handle failures and end up destroying their life.