In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Yes, I have seen and got to know that in number of countries countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. As a student I didn't experience or not encouraged to do such kind of thingdue to the fact in our country we don't do that we mostly start to work after our studies are done. However, that depends on our own thoughts. I think this might lead to both pros and cons. If they are allowed and encouraged to work or travel, youngsters will get to know good and bad. They will get to know the expenses required to live. Not only that if they are allowed to work they will know the struggle to live and earn their living. If they are allowed and encouraged to travel they will get to know various areas of the world, cost of living and everything. Consequently that they may think wisely and gain knowledge on the world and everything. While we look into disadvantages young people who are around 19 years of age may don't have good knowledge and can't handle the situation. Like number of people of that age may find number of difficulties in managing such kind of situations like they may not have ability to earn their living. They might go through bad paths for example they may get addicted to drugs which might be seriously problematic in health and soon due to the fact that they may don't develop good maturity for their age. Consequently I conclude this topic by saying that it has both advantages and disadvantages actually, it will be purely based on the youngster individually how they create and set path either in good path or bad path how you handle though it is difficult.