The preference for alternative medicine for the sick has become the order of the day in most societies in recent years, and has been postulated to increase further.

The preference for alternative medicine for the sick has become the order of the day in most societies in recent years, and has been postulated to increase further. The reasons for this development remain unknown. While some believe that the use of alternative medicines such as herbs and roots for cure was designed by nature to protect humanity, i do not agree that they are safe and effective for use. It is ethical that a drug must be tested for its efficacy and potency prior to its use in humans. This is not the case with alternative medicine because many of the drugs are untested in animal studies. Users may suffer additional damage to the ailing organs while the disease process worsens. Death may become inevitable in such situation. Because these drugs did not undergo any scientific trial, their potential side effects cannot be determined and they remain unknown. Users may then suffer severe adverse drug reactions (ADRs) from the use of these medicines. This becomes important to people genetically prone to these reactions. Such ADRs cannot be prevented because they are unknown. Thirdly, physical and genetic abnormalities may result from their use especially in pregnant women. These disorders are as a result of the potential teratogenic and carcinogenic actions of these drugs. Children borne to such women could suffer debilitating diseases in the future or they may become severely handicap that they could become a burden to their parents. In conclusion, the use of alternative medicine should be outlawed by every responsible government. People should be warned of the inherent dangers in their use and advertisements promoting their use banned.