In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Nowadays, students are supported for travelling or working before entering their university studies. For many people, this type of experience motivates and inspire. However, there are both pros and cons to deciding to do this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why young students are motivated to travel after finishing their schooling for a year. To begin with, there are many advantages of taking a year break after finishing high school. One of the main positives of travelling or working is developing their communication skills. What I mean by this is that students can learn various languages and helps in increased social relationships. For instance, a number of students in canada work part-time for their livelihood. Yet, it helps them in making new friends with other international students by learning their language and by communicating with them. This can make you understand how working helps young people. Secondly, by travelling people can improve their knowledge. Take pupil from wealthy families as example. They travel to other countries during their break. As a result, they tend to acquire more information about other countries such as learning about traditions, history and their cultures. In addition, they can easily learn language while communicating with others in their vacation. On the other side of argument, working or travelling during their year break has also some disadvantages like not able to concentrate on studies after work or travel. To be more precise, usually students will loose their concentration after having a long break. Which have an impact on their studies by resulting in decrease in their grades. Another issue is that sometimes they might have relationship affairs, which leads to focusing more on their relationship instead of their studies. In conclusion, it can be reiterated that taking a year break for working or travelling has both merits and demerits. Personally, I believe the benefits in terms of improving communication skills and knowledge eventually outweigh the benefit.