In some countries, the number of people suffering from health problems because of excess consumption of junk food, is increasing. It has, therefore, become imperative for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

It is a common belief that, nowadays, in a number of communities, more and more people are facing numerous health-related issues due to overconsumption of fast foods, which is thought to be tackled by means of increasing the tax of these foods. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this view for several reasons. On the one hand, it is supposed that the states should enact a higher tax on unhealthy junk food to fall health problems in the population. This would probably encourage humans to take more kinds of healthy food options, however, the rich will still have enough money to buy many kinds of unhealthy foods. Moreover, apart from processed foods, there are also a number of factors leading to individuals' unhealthiness. As an example, if obesity is caused mainly by inactivity and not too much by fast-food consumption, a fat tax might be quite ineffective. Therefore, I believe that there are other more effective measures than the way to impose a higher tax on these foods. On the other hand, I think some solutions had better be applied in order to reduce humans' well-being problems. To begin with, the government would provide numerous spaces such as gym rooms, parks, sports centers to encourage citizens to do exercise. Furthermore, It is necessary for the community to improve the quality of the healthcare systems like hospitals, medicals. Last but not least people should also change from fast food eating habits to a healthy lifestyle. For instance, instead of going out for meals, citizens could stay at home and cook several delicious and nutritious cuisines, which will be better for their well-being. In conclusion, while in some nations, the politicians have a tendency to increase junk food tax to better citizens' unhealthiness, I support the idea that various other measures regarding facilities, healthcare, good lifestyle would tackle this issue as well or better than raising fat tax