In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The interaction between workmates through online is more common these days compared to personal meetings. The innovation of technology made communication a lot more accessible and easier but personal meetings should be done to create a harmonious and dynamic workplace. Humans are social beings and we have created countless of inventions to bypass the difficulties in communication around the world. Inventions such as computers, smartphones, and social medias platforms united the world in exchanging news and whereabouts of the society. In the same manner, offices and corporations sometimes opt to interact through online to get instant feedbacks and ideas between peers, without the need to meet at certain locations. For instance, subordinates often communicate with their supervisors online to report incidents at a faster pace. This creates a much smoother flow in the exchange of ideas and a faster way as well. On the other hand, personal meetings creates a more genuine interaction between peers. This also improves social skills and teamwork in a workplace. Furthermore, the absence of personal meetings could jeopardize the relationship between workmates caused by the lack of human touch and presence. Social interactions between workmates creates a personal relationship beyond work which could probably improve their performance. After all, a good ambience between workmates yield higher performing employees. In conclusion, although online communication is a good way to send feedbacks and ideas instantly in a workplace, meeting face to face is more advantageous in creating a healthier social relationship at work which boosts confidence and improvement in work ethics.