In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by much food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Plastic conquered every sector of the industrial world within the last few decades even though it was invented in the early 20th century. A group of people think that for most of the victual company products, the rate of usage of plastic containers has risen up. This utilization of plastic bottles and plastic containers has advantages and disadvantages but I think demerits may take the higher position. The main advantage of using plastic packages is related to its chemical and physical properties. As it is durable and is very light, we can preserve the eatables for a very long time and the cheap cost of plastic is a valid reason for being chosen by every company around the globe. Moreover, containers will protect the food item from all bacteria formed by reactions with water and air. For example, some food items, when in contact with air, may produce Fungi in it but plastic will protect the food as it creates a strong barrier in between them. In addition, plastic packaging is a very flexible form of packing as it allows manufacturers to customize its shape, size and style as per requirements. On the other hand, the demerits are affecting people in all aspects in the present world and the major one is the pollution caused by the large quantity of plastic waste. In various countries, there is no proper garbage disposal and people throw these containers in their surroundings which will affect the soil fertility and living organisms in it as plastic is non-biodegradable. Burning of plastic will cause air pollution and the harmful gases mainly Carbon dioxide will cause Greenhouse effect and Ozone layer depletion. Some countries like the USA and Singapore dispose of plastic waste into oceans which is a major threat to aquatic animals. Apart from this, plastic containers may react with some food items and the resultant may cause severe health issues to humans mainly cancer. To conclude, the cons outweigh the pros as the plastic packages are harmful for the environment and humans in every way.