In many countries paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, many countries especially in Asia are adapting towards digital payment technology which is nothing but paying via mobile phone. There are several advantages and few disadvantages on this emerging technology. Let’s discuss these in detail in the following paragraphs. The first major advantage is there is no need to carry cash for purchases like a decade ago. Customers can simply download the user-friendly Digital app offered by reputed banks and fintech organisations on their mobile and they can top up their electronic wallet anytime instantly using their credit card, debit card and bank account. In this way, people can spend wisely without worrying about the availability of cash in their wallet. Secondly, the shop owners will get benefited by providing faster checkout for their valued clients. The common issue in many shops is the people have to wait in a long queue for considerable amount of time in the checkout counter for the cashier to scan all the products and to do bill payment. With this new phone payment method, the self check-out options are offered in many crowded outlets where people can simply pay and go and no more queuing. For instance, I have been in Singapore for ten years and most of the employees will go to food courts for lunch which is in between 12noon to 1pm for most of the company staffs. They merely have to wait in the queue for minimum half an hour to do the payment. On the contrary, after the introduction of this mobile payment method, the waiting time is reduced into 50% during peak hours. Turning on other side, a possible disadvantage will be when the mobile is lost or stolen. Eventhough the mobiles are secured with passcodes, patterns, fingerprints and biometrics for logging in there is still a chance for the thieves to crack the password. If it happens, then all the stored bank card information will be misused by the fraudsters. To summarize the mobile payment is having a plethora of advantages. The possible cons can be avoided if we are careful in taking care of our belongings.