image of a lanfill and its use and end with top of clay

The image depicts the outline of stages of building a lanfill, its purpose of garbage disposal and its closure once it is filled up until the top. Overall, there are two steps in construction and it is used for containment of waste for a certain amount of time or until it gets full and is later sealed off with clay. Initially, a wide area is dug out above natural rock, its bottom is laid down with a drainage tank, which is further connected with draining tubes. The tubes communicate with the outside, and bring in the dump from each house. The main reason for laying out a landfill is to fill it with daily waste far away from the places people reside in. The hole is only slightly filled at the beginning and gets full overtime and the botton is spread with liquid waste and clay. As time prolongs, the waste decomposes and releases gases, which are not present at the beginning, which are now directed out through pipes. Any landfill can hold only certain amount of waste and after it reaches its maximum capacity, it is covered on top with clay and a new landfill is made elsewhere.