How did you arrive at your post-MBA career interests? How have you or how will you position yourself to pursue them?

My post-MBA goals stem from my continued commitment to support the environment around me and limit emissions. Long-term, I hope to lead a company that provides solutions to facilitate net-zero carbon emissions for a wide array of companies. To reach this goal, I intend to attain a business education with a focus on the relationship between business and the environment before moving my career to ESG consulting to better understand the business case for achieving more sustainable operations. To date, I have learned various means of incremental emissions reductions at work both through my work as a natural gas pipeline engineer reducing fugitive emissions in a company set on achieving net-zero carbon emissions in the near future. While I know many tactics to reduce emissions, I need to learn the underlying costs, policies, and business relationships required to economically eliminate carbon emissions at scale. An MBA education would support this growth not only with a baseline of business and management education but also through student organizations such as Yale’s Business and the Environment and Social Impact Consulting clubs that would allow me to learn about integrating currently non-financial environmental impacts into business. After gaining the business education needed for the next step in my career, I intend to apply my past experiences and MBA education through ESG consulting. With the resources that Yale SOM provides and experience in connecting business and the environment, I can achieve my goal of leading companies to net-zero emissions to limit negative environmental impact.