Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within this group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots were not weari

In this memo, the author claims that roller skaters have to wear protective clothing or any light-reflecting material in order to reduce their risk of severely injuries in an accident. To support this recommendation, the author cites the hospital statistics among people who visit the emergency room after roller-skating accidents, which indicate those great portion of accident victims (75 percent, in specific) without protective materials. Careful scrutiny reveals that this recommendation relies on several problematic assumptions that render it dubious. Basically, the author hastily assumes that the usefulness or effectiveness of those protective equipment in reducing severe injuries can be judged by relative percentage from the hospital statistics between the non-wearers and the wearers. However, the visitors of the emergency room may not have a vital role in verifying the usefulness or effectiveness of those protective equipment in accidents. If the author cannot provide more specific information that reveals the impact of wearing the equipment to the skaters skating accident, this recommendation is controversial. Similarly, this recommendation is still untenable in that it assumes that the visitors of the emergency room had to be injured severely in the accidents. It might be the case, however, there is no evidence to prove the severity of injuries of them. Perhaps most injuries of them might be classified not “severe injuries” but simple causes. Further, they also might visited because of other reasons unrelated to the accidents. If this is true, this recommendation might loses its ground. Finally, this recommendation also relies on another assumption that the 75 percent in the statistics reveals that skaters should avoid “severe injuries” by simply wearing the protective equipment. However, it is possible that most of skaters in the region usually do not tend to wear the equipment, thus another group of the skaters (25 percent) did not only injured severely without the protective materials. Without ruling out this possibility, we cannot evaluate this recommendation properly. To sum, this recommendation is poorly substantiated, thus fragile as it stands. To make it tenable, the author should provide more specific information about the effectiveness of the equipment in skating accidents and about what portion of the visitors of the emergency room who injured severely. To eliminate our confusions, we need to know that the trend of the skaters in the region whether they usually wear the protective equipment.