Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations.

Science and Technology has made tremendous amount of progress in recent years. This has all been possible because of decades of research carried out by scientists. In order for such research to be carried out, huge amount of money is required. As such, there is growing debate as to who should fund these research projects. I believe that both government and private firms should work together to promote research and development in various fields. Firstly, if research is funded by private organizations there is a risk of commercialization and privatizations. Also, research results are easily hidden and altered as there is no accountability. For example, Facebook shut down its AI research lab when it was discovered that the bots started communicating in alien language. Such human threatening research must be take place under the scrutiny of government forces. On the other hand, government funded research can help more students take up research after studies. This will help create a more research minded workforce that can work for greater good of the country and help in development of the nation. But, measures must also be taken to ensure that researches are carried out in in safe environment and no immoral or untoward practices take place in the name of science. For instance, many reports suggest that cosmetic testing that is done on animals is often carried out in harmful environments. Laws and policies must be enacted and enforced, and violators must be penalized accordingly. To conclude, it is my opinion that government must undertake research activities and source out to eligible private organisations. This will help in making sure everybody is working with the nation’s best interest at heart.