Government should provide unemployed people with a free mobile

Some people believe that the unemployed should be provided with free cell phone and internet access by the government to help them out in searching jobs. Although both, mobile phone and internet, are essential tools to reach out the job advertisements and to make contacts with potential employers, they can be easily accessed with relatively cheap prices. Hence, in my opinion, I do not think that it is necessary for the government to involve in this matter which can be viewed as quite trivial. Instead, the government should go down and investigate the root causes of unemployment, be it lack of proper qualifications, skills, or trainings, thereby finding the solutions. First, there might be several different reasons why ones get lost jobs. Some may just get laid off due to redundancy. Some may just voluntarily quit to take the time off from working life. Additionally, retrenchment can also be due to many factors such as poor economy, lack of proper qualifications. If one got retrenched because of outdated skillset, then the government should consider providing necessary skill programs or upgrading trainings. By doing so, the labour force will be more equipped with necessary skills needed in the outside labour market and, hence resulting lesser unemployment. Therefore, I presume that the merit of providing free mobile and internet access by the government is seen as a good thing, it is not the priority, and it will not help the unemployed to get the jobs.