Front line employees’ passion and emotional exhaustion: The mediating role of emotional labor strategies. To what extent do you agree

Previous research has identified two distinct acting strategies that front line employees typically use to meet the requirements for emotional expressions. These strategies are surface acting ( faking the expected emotions) and deep acting (DA) (i. e. actually experiencing the desired emotions). Researchers have found that SA is more likely than DA to associate with EE, while DA may bring numerous positive effects However, the factors determining whether employees respond by faking emotions, or with deeper-level regulation, need further investigation. He recommend considering individual differences in motivational tendencies among frontline employees whenexamining antecedents of the use of EL strategies. Among theories about motivation, the self-determination theory (SDT) developed by Deci and Ryan (2000) may offer a potentially useful framework for studying the antecedents of EL strategies (Sisley and Smollan, 2012). In SDT, Deci and Ryan (2000) identified two categories of motivations, namely, autonomous and controlled. They that SA is driven more by controlled than by autonomous motivations. Conversely, DA is driven by more autonomous, identified and integrated motivations. Passion is also related to motivations (Vallerand et al. , 2003). Previous research found that employees with passion for work may increase positive emotions, well-being and job performance through greater involvement in their work (Baum and