Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it?

Agriculture is a pivotal sector in most of the countries around the world. Growing crops and harvesting them has been a major source of employment and income generation however, many view it as an inferior profession as compared to working in big organizations. In my essay, I will discuss the causes of this perception and substantial measures for promoting the sector. One of the main factors for youth not opting farming as a career option is the physical strength required for long hours. It is considered the most tedious job as it demands high stamina and muscles which is not present in the new generation due to adulterated food. Another reason for neglecting the profession is the variable earnings throughout the year. To illustrate, production of crops depends on uncontrollable factors like rain, temperature etc. which if not occurred in favour can spoil the production leaving farmers with minimal income. Flexible income and the hardwork required in farming are a drawback of the industry. However, several steps can be taken to develop interest of students in the primary sector. Firstly, the government should educate the children about the importance of farming by spreading awareness through advertisements, organizing seminars or environmental drives, introducing topic in the syllabus etc. Secondly, the government can also initiate schemes such as subsidized crops and pesticides, fixed rates for the yield and offering them discounts on the tools required hence, creating interest in the occupation. This will not only brief the youngsters about the future prospects but also paint a positive picture of the sector. To conclude, agriculture being one of the most vital area of economy, is not preferred by many due to flexible income generation and efforts required to carry out the activities. But with the introduction of a number of schemes and providing with basic necessities, farming can become the first choice of the upcoming generation.