Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

Food waste has been highlighted as an emerging issue that maybe escaping broader public attention. Given that the issue has the potential for significant environmental impacts, identifying the reasons is key to finding the solutions. There are a number of reasons why a large amount of food is wasted every year. First, since most fresh foods, such as meat and vegetables, are perishable, they usually have expiry or best before dates. This means that if people do not consume them quickly enough, foods will be expired and no longer edible or free of hazards, which results in food waste. Second, the way humans prepare foods also contributes to food waste. For example, if foods are badly prepared, either at home or in the restaurant, people will refuse to eat and food waste will often occur as a result. Nevertheless, there are also a variety of solutions to mitigate this trend. First, even if some foods are inedible for humans, they can be composted or used to feed livestock. This would not only benefit the agriculture industry but also help reduce land filled organic matter that can be damaging to the environment. Second, even if the food waste is not inedible for livestock, it can still be used as a material to produce renewable energy. For example, some nations have taken steps to turn organic matter from food waste into biogas, generating electrical power at very low costs. In conclusion, even though food waste seems inevitable in today’s world, there are various ways to recycle it. Feeding livestock and generating energy can be two of the most useful ways to tackle food waste.