Establishing good relationships in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of every person is to focus on work.

Workplaces in Mumbai, India are as good as a second home. Majority of the MNC’s, corporates and even factory workers spend atleast 50 to 60 hours of the week working. Relationships here are of prime importance. I believe majority of our social lives in India are made up of colleagues. I believe that good relationships at work are very important irrespective of whether your colleagues become a part of your personal social life or not. Relationships at work with colleagues, clerks, housekeeping, immediate supervisors and those at leadership levels are all determining factors to one’s success at their workplace. Even though the primary goal of every person is to focus on work, relationships enable one to smoothen this ride by maintaining cordial relationships at the workplace. Therefore, I would like to politely disagree with the statement that ‘Establishing good relationships in the workplace is not important’. I would like to share an example from my personal experiences. There have been times when I have messed up at work but have been able to recover quickly because of the good relationships I have maintained with staff from not only my own department but also the other stakeholders and vendors. As an HR professional I choose to also maintain healthy relationships by going out of my way to make new joiners feel comfortable. This enables me to have contacts in every department for when required. There are several ways to maintain good relationships with co-workers in India. The most common one is sharing your lunch time with them. Eating together not only at work but also going out together for work dinners has helped colleagues bond with each other.