Environmental Problem Solving

Our environment faces many problems, and some of them worsen over time, such as plastic pollution, air pollution, and global warming from fossil fuels. Therefore, it increasingly important to solve these problems by doing something that can reduce their negative effects. Environmental problem solving itself can be done at various scales. Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale, while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. So, which one is better? Those who agree that environmental problems should be resolved on a global scale argue that environmental problems, such as global warming, have a worldwide impact and need global attention to reduce their adverse effects on human life and the environment. To overcome it, an agreement between countries in the world is needed. The international organization, United Nations, can also function within it by identifying the problems and providing environmental alternatives or policies to which all countries must comply. By doing so, some people believe that handling environmental problems globally is more effective than nationally. Examples of environmental problem solving on a global scale are the Kyoto Protocol and the Montreal Protocol. The Kyoto Protocol is an international agreement to reduce emissions and five other greenhouse gases, while the Montreal Protocol is an international treaty designed to protect the ozone layer by eliminating the production of substances, which is believed to reduce the ozone layer. However, the reason why some other people believe that it is better to tackle environmental problems nationally also makes sense. Each country may have a different mindset even in dealing with the same problem. It is due to differences in the causes and impacts of the problem. For example, deforestation in Indonesia is caused by forest fires and forest conversion to oil palm plantations and mining, while deforestation in the Amazon region, Brazil, is caused by illegal logging and illegal encroachment of forest land. Generally, both of them have the same impacts, but their main impacts are different. In Indonesia, deforestation triggers various natural disasters, such as landslides, floods, and drought. Meanwhile, deforestation in Brazil causes an increase in carbon emissions, in which Brazil's emissions were equivalent to 2. 175 billion tons of carbon dioxide (CO2) in 2019. Every country also has different environmental or other problems, as well as their priorities. Therefore, they can independently formulate appropriate actions to deal with their problems. That is why some people think that solving environmental problems nationally is more efficient than globally. Whether on a global or national scale, solving environmental problems should be carried out in an orderly and comprehensive manner. From my perspective, both are equally good to do depending on the environmental problem at hand. If a problem affects nearly all countries and has a broadly similar impact, then it is better to tackle it on a global scale. However, every country also has different environmental problems and occurs only on a national scale. So, it will be more efficient if handled nationally.