Due to the effects of globalization, the cultures of some countries are influenced by others. Some people think this is a natural process. Others think this is a threat to cultural identity. What is your opinion about this?

There has been much debate concerning the adverse consequences of advances technology to cultural identity of a country. Some people argue that cultures that influence by technology and the internet are the natural phenomenon and have positive effects, while others think that the process threaten the cultural identity. This essay agrees that technology bring greater impacts on culture and identity for the following reasons. To begin with, it might be claimed that social media plays a pivotal role on influencing identity of a person, primarily younger generations. This is because youngsters tend to spend longer time using digital networks to communicate with online friends, who probably some of them are in different continents, than having a real-human interaction with peers. Moreover, having a long duration communicating with overseas people could alter adolescents’ lifestyle and their communication way, such as from Asian style to Western culture, and it is believed could be a potential threat because young adult might leave their origin identity. However, I would argue that the process of technology affecting on people’s live is a natural and positive development in terms of education. Firstly, the internet and online media could provide information regarding other cultures which could broaden young people’s insight and knowledge. They can also take positive aspects from the different culture and make a positive self-development from it, without completely changing their identity. For instance, students from other countries could learn from Japanese students because most of them spend longer hours to read book daily, rather than doing any other pastimes activities at leisure time. In conclusion, I totally agree with the idea that the advancements in technology have greater impacts on cultural identity of a person. This is because people could generate unlimited information from social media and the internet about other cultures that can be used to widen their knowledge as well as making a positive self-development.