Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Social networking sites, for instance Facebook, are thought by a number of to have had a detrimental effect on individual people as well as society and local communities. However, while I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to the individual, I agree that they have had a damaging effect on local communities. With regard to individuals, the impact that online social media has had on each individual person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from various countries are brought together through such sites as Facebook whereas prior to the development of technology and social networking sites, people rarely had the chance to meet or communicate with anyone outside their immediate circle or community. Secondly, Facebook also has social groups which offer individuals a chance to meet and participate in discussions with people who share common interests. To conclude, although social networking sites have brought individuals closer together, they have not had the same effect on society or local communities. Local communities should do more to try to involve local people in local activities in order to promote the future of community life.