Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages for students of computer-based examinations.

Nowadays, more and more people are finding it hard to imagine their lives without technologies such as TV, computer and mobile phones as it does not only incorporate their leisure time, but also work. Without a doubt, students are also getting used to studying online, but the beneficence of examinations held online is still being questioned. There a few advantages to computer-based examinations for students. To begin with, the use of computer in everyday life has become a common thing for students due to the pandemic. To give an example, a majority of tests and assignments students have to submit are on the Internet. Consequently, students are experienced in computer-based assignments, so the final exam would not be an issue. Furthermore, if the exam is held online, students are able to see the result immediately. For instance, most of the answers are programmed in the system to be correct or incorrect. As a consequence, one gets to know how they performed in the exam instantly and is able to submit one’s result to higher education more frequently. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to examinations held online. For one thing, technology is not hundred-percent reliable. For example, no student is protected from getting disconnected due to the poor Internet connection. As a result, one experiences stress because of the conditions one is not able to control and may perform worse in the exam. Another argument against computer-based examinations is that students lack space and time to make notes. For instance, if one wants to plan his essay and try different methods such clustering, it might not be possible to do that online. Consequently, one is not able to use one’s favourite technique and may perform worse in the exam. All things considered, while computer-based examinations offer some downsides, there are some great benefits relating to it for students. In my point of view, computer-based examinations will be a common thing in the near future and I consider it a positive thing as I am already used to technologies.