Advantages and disadvantages of fast food

Despite the fact that pandemic made the humanity slow down their lives, over the past years the popularity of fast food has been increasing. Without a doubt, processed food plays an important role in some people‘s nutrition, but its beneficence to everyday life and health is still being questioned. There are a few advantages to fast food. To begin with, fast food is made quickly. For example, if a person has a hectic schedule and does not have time to make food for oneself, eating fast food is a reasonable choice. As a result, one satisfies one‘s physical needs frequently and has more time to do other things. Furthermore, fast food restaurants provide a wide variety of choices. For instance, if one is a vegan, vegetarian or does not tolerate gluten, one is able to find what suits one best. This way a person maintains one‘s health and avoids allergic reactions. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to eating processed food. For one thing, fast food is extremely calorific. For instance, if a person eats fast food several times a week and does not exercise, one consumes an excessive amount of calories. Consequently, it can lead to the increase of weight or even result in obesity. Another argument against processed food is that it contains an abundance of added sugar and fat. To give an example, burgers and French fries are made with a huge amount of oil, beverages such as Coca-Cola are filled with sugar to cause an addiction. As a result, a surplus of sugar, fat and the lack of vitamins and minerals may result in higher blood sugar and cholesterol levels. All things considered, while fast food offers benefits to everyday life, there are some serious downsides relating to a person‘s health. In my point of view, one should adopt a balanced diet and be moderate when eating processed food as it can have serious effects on one‘s health.