Competition has been shown to be useful up to a certain point and no further, but cooperation, which is the thing we must strive for today, begins where competition leaves off. Is cooperation ultimately more successful than competition?

While competition has undoubtedly garnered a healthy amount of advocates, mainly for its role as a motivation, a large proportion of the modern community is expressing the belief that cooperation is the superior means of achieving ultimate success. Personally, I firmly concur with such a statement, in what follows, I shall give ground to my belief. To begin with, cooperation eliminates the persistent pressure induced by a competitive mindset. Unlike competition, which primarily involves individual victories and achievements at the expenses of others’ failures and losses, cooperation focuses on the process of joining efforts to achieve a mutually beneficial result for each and every individual. In other words, members are no longer under the constant pressure to excel and outperform their peers in order to success, instead they are allowed to collaborate and collectively contribute to the achievement of ultimate success, which is also equally distributed among those involved. Consequently, team members can effortlessly contribute their strengths and individualized skills to accumulate a generally more productive and fulfilling working and learning environment. Cooperation is thus the best tool for upholding the general interests, making it superior to competition as a means of achieving excellence. Furthermore, collaboration facilitates the acquisition and development of invaluable skills and knowledge that cannot be cultivated in a competition-driven manner. By actively partaking in the process of collaborating with others, overcoming obstacles and ultimately achieving success, individuals can acquire prized skills such as leadership, effective communication as well social relationship building. These skill-sets, which are critically absent in the means of competing, are becoming progressively more essential due to the shift towards a more team-oriented education and business world. These highly essential skills promote efficiency and productivity usually in ways more advanced than competition allows. Hence, cooperation is a much superior means of working and achieving success, compared to a competition-driven approach. The above analysis has already underscored the merits of my belief. It is now crystal clear that in order to reap desirable results, especially in such a team-oriented society, individual should acquire themselves the ability to cooperate with others.