Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance.

In recent years purchasing products from distant countries has become easier than ever. Not only that big companies can now import a large amount of goods, but with the advance of technology, ordering goods is now available and much more affordable for the common people, which as result, increased the amount of produce transportation worldwide. In this article I will cover some of the advantages and disadvantages of purchasing products from other countries and their transporation. The main and most obvious disadvantage in importing goods from other countries is harming the local economy. As a customer I would definitely prefer to pay less for the same product, so if the product I want is cheaper in China than it is in my country, then without a doubt I would buy it from China. Since most people would probably choose this approach, in the best case scneario, it may cause local factories and companies to lose some money, or in worst case go bankedrupped, which as result will cause workers to lose their jobs and stabillity. Furthermore, not only the long transporation using airplanes and ships causes an enviromental pollution by burning an incredible amount of fuel, but the paper and plastic packages for wrapping up the goods damage the environment as well. However, the most significant advantage of global economy is that it allows competition between companies worldwide and actively prevents the creation of monopolies. Companies can no longer set outragous prices for their products, as with the advance of technology and glocal economy, one can now easily compare products, prices, weigh the pros and cons and reach an educated decision, based on all the data he found, to buy the product that best suits his needs and is no longer tied to a small selection of a few local companies as it was in the past. In my humble opinion, the advantges outweigh the disadvatanges since the advantages affect all of us as consumers, even so, the downsides should not be ignored. I believe that some of the disadvantages could be solved by setting up some rules and regulations to encourage the citizens to buy local, such as a tax reduction insentive for for whoever buys locally. This way the government can support the local industry, decrease the amount of shipped goods while not hurting us as custo